On to Antwerp

A very flat and repetitive 70 miles took me to Antwerp on Thursday. It was a public holiday so with no shops open all I had to eat was the rest of my jar of ‘Speculoos’ biscuit flavour spread. I’m pretty much hooked now.

image

image

"Can catcher" bins for cyclists to throw their rubbish in

image

Tunnel running under the river Scheldt

I eventually reached the city and my hosts, Thierry and Irene. I met Thierry when I was cycling in France last summer. Sightseeing, beer tasting and even a little heavy metal ensued. I have had a thorough education of beer from Thierry, who features in the Good Beer Guide for Belgium. After three nights it is time to head off again – my progress has been rather slow so far.

image

image

image

Central Station

image

image

The old meets the new in Antwerp

image

image

